HSA reunion–Kent Convergence

ย 

Last weekend was the long awaited Kent convergence…my first Homeschool Alumni reunion! Where do I even start? It was a blessed and refreshing time, a blessing to meet good friends, and refreshing to meet others who enjoy many of the same interests!

Frankly I wasn’t planning on going at all. ๐Ÿ™‚ I remember half-jokingly saying to Mum, “wouldn’t I love to go!”, and of all the answers, she said “well, maybe you can!”.ย ย Oh. Yay! ย So, after much discussion and much planning, it was decided that I could go! Not that Daddy would make his decision in a hurry…he waited until the evening before I left before making a final decision.ย  It did make packing a bit hard, but was certainly worth the wait!

Kate and Debbie

Friday morning we left early for Kent, Ohio, stopping in Amish country on the way up, and a bulk foods store.ย  It’s about a 2 1/2 drive, but it felt like a eternity…partly because I was really excited, partly because I kept thinking…”what am I thinking, I don’t know anyone!?!?”ย  By the time we were within ten miles ofย the home of our hosts, the Pieplows,ย I was very nervous…all I can remember is cracking my knuckles, most unladylike. ๐Ÿ˜‰

It was a great joy to meet the Pieplows! Mr. and Mrs. Pieplow are very gracious hosts, and it was so wonderful staying at their home!ย  It was a pleasure to meet the Pieplow family as well, Brandon, Caleb, Hannah, Eva, Levi, and Shane.ย  They were all very kind to us, even if we stayed up until 3 in the mornin talking. ๐Ÿ˜›ย  Not that any of us would do that *looks out the window*ย  But I digress..

By Friday evening most everyone had come, and we had a good game of “Do you Love Your Neighbor” and about 4 hours of dance practice following that. I am a terrible klutz, so you should all feel very bad for my poor dance partners, but we managed to have a good time anyway. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’ll post some links to videos later on.

Saturday morning we had a amazing devotional, led by Mr. Pieplow.ย  The points that he shared with us about following our dreams were very interesting, and will probally be the subject of another blog post. ๐Ÿ™‚ But moving along… afterwards, we had quite a game of Ultimate frisbee, and then went back downstairs to spend some more time practicing dancing. It would be good to remark here that this is not modern ball room dancing, but “Pride and Prejudice” type dancing. Much less “touchy”. ๐Ÿ˜‰ย 

^having a very involved 3-man slingshot-water ballon fight. ๐Ÿ˜€

Saturday evening was the dress ball. It was amazing…the music was wonderful, the hall was beautiful, and the company of course, was beyond compare. ๐Ÿ˜‰ย  I hope to do a whole separate post on the dancing, so that I do not over bore you here, with this long post. ๐Ÿ˜€

^Kate and Rachael

Sunday morning I woke up a hour late…15 minutes until my ride to Church services came! I greatly enjoyed visiting theย Mogadore Church of Christ, and very much appreciate Mr. and Mrs. Teagarden picking me up. Mum picked me up about 4 o’clock, and we went home with a full autograph book and sooo many wonderful memorys!

^Gabe Everson, Caleb Pieplow, Mr. Brown. Check out the boy’s kilts. ๐Ÿ™‚

The Gentlemen

I โค you all so much, can’t wait to see you this September! ๐Ÿ˜€

~Kate

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qLDBMJM0jz8

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Am-Ljp6ejsM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i__YU5Exy5I

