Hair Tutorial – Titanic Updo

I’m sorry gentlemen, but I am sore afraid this will be one of my posts that will not interest you in the slightest. So, go hunt some moose or rope some cattle or something, and I’ll make up to you next time with a nice manly article. But today, we are going to be discussing hair 🙂

“Well now” ( This said to the remaining ladies) “This is my first attempt at a hair tutorial, so bear with my blundering attempts here, and don’t be afraid to tell me if it made no sense. 🙂 But I think it will, if you give me a chance.”

*gives a dramatic sweep of the hand*

“This style came about on a busy Sunday morning when I had less then 5 minutes to do my hair, but it needed to look really nice, and that most quickly. So, I experimented…and from that simple experiement I received so many compliments that I thought I’d share how to do this style with you!

The accessories ^ (just as a note, I found everything shown at either Rite-Aid or Walmart… And if you can’t find “fancy” barrettes, just plain ones will do the job just as well. 🙂 )

Start by brushing out your hair ^

Gather the top half of your hair into a barrette, making sure that it is smooth on top. ( I will not go into a lot of detail on this step, because most of us know how to do this already. 🙂

Now, (this part is a bit tricky if you have layered hair) gather all your hair into your hand and twist it, starting at the top and working down until you have a “rope” of hair.. Don’t try to secure it, just hold on to the end and don’t let it untwist…

Now, bring your hair up and twist it around, underneath the large barrette…this part is a bit tricky and will take a few tries… but basically just make sure it is smooth…remember, bobby pins fix a multitude of sins. 🙂

Secure with the 4 clips – Just clip the “rosette” at all four corners. In spite of the feeling that it won’t stay, it will if you get the clips in well enough. Now, I usually use several bobby pins to secure it even more, but that’s totally up to you. If you are going to be dancing or moving around a lot, I do suggest at least two or three bobby pins. 🙂

And then of course, our friend the hairspray. 🙂

And that my friends, is it. 🙂 It’s a simple and pretty way to put up your hair, and I’m getting quite attracted to it. 🙂 I imagine it would look especially lovely in curly hair! If you wouldn’t mind, send me pictures if you do your hair this way! I’d love to see them! 😀

And now, a few more pictures… special thanks to Elisabeth for being my long-suffering photographer! “No, don’t stand that way…hold still!! 😀 ”

Adios! (And I really will have a less “girly” post next time…promise 🙂 )

